Love and Physics Homework: The Story of My Parents

I love the story of how my parents met because it says so much about them as people.  It also explains a lot about why their children are all academic nerds.

My parents met in college.  My mom was an undergrad violin performance major and my dad was getting his masters in electrical engineering.  My mom’s roommate had decided to throw a party at their apartment.  My mom, who was not much of a party person, decided to spend the night doing physics homework in her bedroom instead.  Physics was not a required class for her major, but she was taking it because she, “thought it sounded fun.”  That is my mom for you.  My dad, who was also not a party person, had been pressured to come to the party with one of his friends.

At some point during the night, my mom got to a problem she couldn’t figure out.  Desperate for answers and unwilling to turn in an incomplete homework assignment, she tracked down the engineering grad student and asked for help with her homework.  They went to her bedroom and worked on this physics problem for hours, while a party raged just outside the door.

My dad, brilliant as he was, couldn’t figure out how to solve the problem before the party ended, so they said goodbye and my dad went home with his friend.

The next day, he worked on the physics problem all day and finally solved it so he could call her with the answer and ask her out.

They have now been married for 26 years.

I hope and pray I could have a love story even a fraction as cute as theirs!

5 responses

  1. I love this story 🙂 And I think it’s awesome that you appear to be following in their wise footsteps.

    September 1, 2011 at 9:03 pm

  2. What a sweet post on your parents. Thanks for reading my blog! I’ve got a brother that teaches high school physics/chemistry if you’re looking! LOL

    September 3, 2011 at 9:13 am

  3. Cutest parents ever :). And solid evidence that nerdiness is hot 😉

    September 8, 2011 at 3:36 pm

  4. How parents met stories are the best.

    September 14, 2011 at 2:01 am

  5. Oh my goodness! Super sweet story! I loved reading it.

    September 19, 2011 at 12:41 pm

What do you think?

